Monday, February 23, 2026

Wrestle Fest - What If Disney Bought WCW?

As we all know, In March of 2001, World Championship Wrestling (WCW) was bought by Vince McMahon and the World Wrestling Federation/Entertainment (WWF/WWE). And since then, WCW's Legacy lives on within the WWE.

But what if...What If, destiny did NOT favor The McMahons? What if Another Company Swooped in and bought WCW instead, completely blindsiding McMahon and the WWF? And that company is..

The Walt Disney Company!!!!

This is The What If Scenario, Where The House of Mouse bought The WCW in 2001. And unlike my other 2 What-If Scenarios, This one has 3 Endings. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Chapter 1 - An Altered Destiny

Note: The Following Events Are an Aternative Reality version of Actual Events. Please remember this when reading. Thank You.

In 2001, WCW's President, Brad Segal has just ended all WCW shows on The Turner Networks, as a result, Fucient Media Ventures backed out of financing Eric Bischoff's plan to buy the company.

Enter Vince McMahon, who was prepared to purchase WCW and merge it into the WWF, However, he got completely blindsided by Michael Eisner and Disney, who beat McMahon to the punch and purchased WCW. 

For the Big Contracts of the Top Stars, Disney successfully haggled for a better deal. So, The Big Names don't get paid as much as they were under Turner, though they Are treated with respect and dignity.

Anyway, McMahon was furious, but decided to bide his time, seeing Disney as a strong business rival, but one who may fail at the Wrestling Business. He addresses the buyout on the night of the purchase on RAW in March of 2001. 

It's worth noting that with Disney's Eisner now in charge, instead of WWF's McMahon, Jeff Jarrett never gets fired, thus TNA Wrestling never exists...at least, not at This point in time anyway.

The Shocking News of Disney's purchase of WCW spread. Some were excited by the news, others were skeptical, other were angry. But no matter what the attitude, The Walt Disney Company now owned The #2 Wrestling Company in the World.           

---------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Chapter 2 - Disney's WCW

Before anything Truly begins at Disney's WCW, The House of Mouse lays out some Ground Rules for the Superstars and Creative.

1 - No Strong Profanities. Anyone using such Language On-Air will not only be Censored, but will Also be Fined up to $100. Minor curses can be used without issue though 

2 - If You Gotta Bleed, Bleed Naturally. No Blading Allowed! Blading will cost a $1,000 fine.

3 - No Sexual Stuff during Work Hours. Doing so will cost a $2,000 fine. Romance is fine though.

4 - Any Lady (or Dude) who goes into Adult Media (like posing for adult magazines), Will Be Suspended for 60 Days.

5 - No Narcotics, Smoking, or Heavy Drinking on Company Time. A fine of $500 will be levied against those who do. Light Drinking is fine. In addition, Narco Users Must attend Mandatory Drug Rehab, failure to do so will lead to a 60 Day Suspension 

And 6 - No Unauthorized Rowdy Stuff Backstage. Those involved will be fined $500 each.

The Rules received mixed reactions from the Wrestlers and Creative themselves. Some like Kevin Nash and Scott Steiner despised them While others like Sting and Jeff Jarrett thought they were fair. 

Anyway, now that the Rules have been established. Time to find out What Disney will be doing to the Shows.

First is Monday Nitro. Nitro will air exclusively on ESPN on Monday Nights at 8pm. To cater to the ESPN Audience, who view Professional Wrestling as Fake and Dumb, Eisner and Disney would make Nitro a More Serious and More Mature Show that focuses mostly on the In-Ring Product. Nitro will remain a 2-Hour Show. 

Next is Thunder. Thunder will be moved to Saturday Afternoons at 1pm on ABC and will be a Fun Family Show, in contrast to Monday Nitro on ESPN. Thunder will have Family Friendly Weekly Stories, but still deliver on the In-Ring Action. To save on the budget, Disney will scale back Thunder from 2 Hours to 1-Hour. 

And Finally there's WorldWide, which will be a 1 Hour Recap Show. Like it always has been.

And Now, The Roster. The Roster itself will be split between the 2 Main Shows. Top Stars like Sting, Jeff Jarrett, Kevin Nash, Booker T, Scott Steiner, DDP, and Goldberg, As well as Mid-Tier Talent like Rey Mysterio Jr., Konnan, Buff Bagwell, Dustin Rhodes, Stevie Ray, Ernest Miller, and Curt Hennig will be Exclusive to Nitro.

While the Low-Tier Talent will be Relegated to Thunder. So they'll need to adapt to a more Family Friendly Programing.  

As for the Commentary Teams - Tony Schiavone and Scott Hudson would be the Color Commentators for Nitro. And doing Commentary for for Thunder will be Mike Taney and Mark Madden. And Mike Taney and Scott Hudson would host Worldwide. 

Next is the Various Divisions. Disney would cut 2 divisions - The Hardcore and Cruiserweight Tag. While reviving the Women's division. And, speaking of, that division will just be Pure Wrestling, no Sexual Crap, No Fluff, just Talented Women Wrestlers Battling in the Ring. 

The Cruiserweight Division would be Exclusive to Thunder, while the Womens Division would be Nitro Only.  

To save Money, The Pay Per Views would be cut down to just 6 a Year and most will have a "Big Sports" feel. Disney would also have Starcade rival the Super Bowl in terms of Excitement, Pomp, Ceremony, and Anticipation. Disney's Starcade would also have Musical Performances and Special Guests. A bigger specticle than when Turner owed it.

Whether or not the first WCW PPV under Disney would've been "The Big Bang" is unknown. Same goes for keeping Eric Bischoff. Or even rehiring Hulk Hogan for that matter.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Chapter 3 - What's Happenin' In The WWF?!

With WCW Still in play as a Rival, this time owned by a Bigger Company than Turner, Vince McMahon and the WWF are forced to bring his A-Game to Every Show (TV, House,and PPV). Meaning, they Can't afford to slack off, as they kinda did in Our Reality. So, The WWF gains more ratings and fans, because of this.  

The buyout was even constantly made fun of on-air by WWF's Commentators and Superstars.

Now, what about the 2001 Invasion? does That still happen now that WCW is still alive and Still a rival? The answer is - Yup! The Invasion Still happens, only it's WWF v. ECW, instead of WWF v. a WCW/ECW Alliance. Also, the Invasion plays out almost exactly like it did in Our Reality. 

So, despite Disney buying WCW in this Alt-Reality, The WWF Still buys ECW. So, yeah...

Anyway, the ECW Team at Survivor Series is the same as Our Universe's Alliance Team, except Tommy Dreamer replaces Booker T. And like in Our Reality, Team WWF Wins. 

After that, everything happens as it did in Our Reality, except the WWF keeps pushing out their A-Game, thus keeping their product in strong condition. 

And so, The Monday Night Wars Continue..

-----------------------------------------------------------------------  

Chapter 4 - Fortunes and Failures 

When news of Disney's Buyout of WCW spread, there were mixed emotions among the Wrestling Fandom. 

Some became scared, some were sceptical, while others were pissed. And then there was the "At Least They Can't Get Any Worse" crowd. 

There were also a small amount of vocal fans that were excited.

But no one were as thrilled as the WWF fans were. See, if Disney was a success, then The WWF would need to bring their A-Game all of the time, thus giving the Fans a consistantly good product. And if Disney Failed - Then Victory for The WWF!

A Win-Win for the WWF Fandom.

Reguardless of these attitudes, with Disney at the helm, WCW found a fresh creative energy. 

Now, what they would've done is unclear, but it's likely that a bit of the Disney Brand would've been infused into the Product.

Fears and frustration within the WCW's fandom subsided as they witnessed the Product first hand. Though a handful of fans were still upset, so they permanently jumped ship to the WWF.

Disney's WCW grossed $2 - 3 Million per PPV and garnered 2 Million+ in ratings each week for their shows. All thanks to the Creative, as well as the In-Ring Product and Star Power.

With TV Ratings good and PPV Buyouts great, Disney was very pleased with WCW and it's Wrestlers.

With Monday Nitro doing great on ESPN, the Monday Night Wars heat up. And Wrestling fans were eating good.

But...not Everything was a Magical Dream. Due to Disney's New Rules, an exodeus took place, where many WCW Wrestlers jumped ship to the WWF, starting in Late-2001/Early-2002.

The first was "Nature Boy" Ric Flair, who simply recieved a better offer from Vince McMahon. So he resigned from WCW and returned to the WWF in Late-November.

"Big Poppa Pump" Scott Steiner was the next, feeling like he was "being censored by the Mouse: Then in 2002, The Outsiders, Scott Hall and Kevin Nash, turned in their Resignation Papers and 2 Months Later, returned to the WWF, alongside Hollywood Hulk Hogan.

Others followed, most joined the WWF, while a small handfull joined the Independent Wrestling Circuit. 

But, it wasn't Just the New Rules that were the reason for the ship jumping. There was also the Budget Cuts, which began in Mid-2002, where Disney cut some of the WCW Talent who they considered to be "Not That Essential".

Overall, Sting and Jeff Jarrett were the Only 2 Main Event Wrestlers that stayed with Disney.

Disney soon found itself lacking in Superstar Power and many of the guys (and gals) they brought in just Couldn't Go The Distance and flopped as Main Event Stars.

While Nitro's ratings were at a Consistant 2 - 2.5 Million, Thunder wasn't so lucky.

While Numbers were great in the beginning, starting in 2002, they consistantly took a dive. 

In 2001, Thunder was at 2 Million, then by 2002, ratings dropped to 1 Million. And in 2003, Thunder's ratings were at 500,000. Then at 100,000 in 2004. 50,000 in 2005, and finally at 10,000 in 2006. 

These low ratings forced Disney to can Thunder in Mid-3006.

And while WCW Thunder was sinking, it's Rival Show, WWF Smackdown! grew even more popular.

Back to the Budget Cuts. The Roster wasn't the Only thing effected... the Shows were too.

Starting in 2003, Disney cut production costs for it's TV Shows. Then, in 2005, cuts to the  Cruiserweight Division happened. And in 2006, Disney canned that division entirely once Thunder was Canceled.

Then In 2007, Disney makes cuts to the Womens Division. In 2008, the Women's Division is scrapped.

Thanks to the WWF constantly bringing their A-Game to the Masses, they garnered Even More Ratings for their Shows and Bigger Buyouts from their PPVs.

While Nitro's ratings were constantly at 2 - 2.5 Million, RAW's was at 3 - 4 Million. WWF was once again beating WCW in the Monday Night Wars.

Many fans saw WCW as fun, but not as cool as the WWF (the WWE starting in 2002). So, by 2004/2005, many Wrestling Fans abandoned WCW and became Full-Time WWF/WWE fans.

Then it Finally happened, in 2007, Nitro's ratings declined thanks to some Fans permanently switching to RAW.

Nitro went from 2.5 Million Viewes to 1 Million by 2007. And by 2008, to save money, Disney cut Nitro from 2-Hours to 1-Hour. Meanwhile, their PPV Buyouts started shrinking in 2006. And by 2008, Disney was averaging about 80,000 - 100,000 per PPV. 

Also, starting in 2005, Nitro, which was Live since 2001, began doing Pre-Recorded shows. All part of their Budget Cuts. And for the record, Thunder was Always a Pre-Recorded Show.

But that wasn't all. There were also Internal Issues between Disney and the WCW People, which included Wrestlers and the Creative.

The Creative wanted to push things the way WWF/WWE was, but Disney wouldn't give. As for the Wrestlers, even though their pay was still good, their schedule was still good, and their benefits were okay, they wanted more creative freedom and a big pay raise.

Again, Disney initially refused, but a compromise was made and so was a deal. The Wrestlers all were granted creative freedom, as long as they follow Disney's rules. And they managed to get a small pay raise, not the big ones that they were hoping for.

Those Wrestlers who were fed up with Disney's rules, jumped ship to the WWF/WWE or to an Indy Promotion.

As for the Creative? They got jack and some even left the company. Though the ones that stayed got monthly bonus'.

Then in 2009, With a Lower Budget, Wrestlers who begrudgingly had to follow Disney's Rules, Low Ratings, Weak PPV Buy Rates, Yearly Budget Cuts, and Lack of Strong Star Power (besides Sting and Jarrett), Disney's WCW began struggling. 

And finally in 2010....

 ---------------------------------------------------------------------

Chapter 5 - The Split Path 

In 2010, 1 of 3 Things Happen.

1 - Disney finds a way to save WCW and it thrives for another decade, and thus, The Monday Night Wars Continue...for a while longer, at least.

2 - Disney fails to save WCW in the long term and is forced to shut it down. Vince McMahon convinces Bob Iger to sell WCW to the WWE. And so he does. This scenario leads to Jeff Jerrett and Sting leaving to form TNA Wrestling in 2011/2012.

And 3 - Bob Iger gets tired of Professional Wrestling and just simply sells WCW to Vince McMahon and the WWE. Jeff Jarrett and Sting don't go to the WWE in this scenario either, instead, they form TNA Wrestling in 2011/2012.

The latter 2 scenarios are the most likely to happen in this Alt-Reality. Either way, these 2 scenarios see the Monday Night Wars Finally end.

As for Why Double J and the Stinger don't join The WWE? Well, Vince McMahon Did offer them lucrative contracts, but they refused on the grounds that they had plans on continuing WCW's Legacy elsewhere.

Anyway, In scenario 2 and 3, the WWE gets a 2nd invasion storyline in 2010, this time it's WWE vs.WCW and things play out much better than how it did in Our Reality back in 2001. That's because, most of WCW's Key Players managed to take part.

Sidenote - Once TNA Wrestling is Formed the company does Not Engage in a 2nd Monday Night War with the WWE, instead opting to air their Show on Saturday Nights.

==================================

And there ya have it - A Reality where Disney bought WCW in 2001, instead of the WWF. It's Interesting to say the least.

So, until next time, Punch Nazis, Kick Commies, Resist Modern Attitudes, and Stay Gold. 

Friday, February 6, 2026

Master List Special - The Greatest Fictional Villains

This February 14th we celebrate Valentines Day,a day of Romance and Chocolates. Well,That's not how We are gonna be celebrating that day. Nope,here at Retro Resistance, Feb 14th is Villain-tines Day,a day for Bad Guy Love.

With that Said,Retro Resistance presents the Master List of Greatest Fictional Villains...according to Me,that is. This list will not only contain Cartoon and Anime Villains,but also Video Game and Live-Action Baddies as well.
---------------------

Don Turtelli (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles '87) - Turtelli was a crime boss from the 80's Ninja Turtles show who had a fun way of getting info from his victims - tickling their feet. His most famous victim being April O'Neil. Overall,Turtelli was a fun idea for a Villain.

Tron Bonne (Mega Man Legends) - This Pirate Princess isn't a Villain,per se,but still a very memorable and fun Antagonist. Her family theme song is also fun and memorable.

Dr. Robotnik (Adventures of Sonic the Hedgehog) - This version of Dr.Eggman is one of the most memorable and entertaining Game to To characterizations ever. This is mostly thanks to his starring role in various Youtube Poop videos. He's biggest mission is to either capture or destroy,his ultimate nemesis,Sonic The Hedgehog,so that he can rule Mobius.

Darth Vader (Star Wars) - The Mega Iconic Villain formerly known as Anikin Skywalker. His theme,the Imperial March,is also Iconic.

The Joker (Batman) - The Joker has always been the antithesis of Batman and it's because of this,he's not only the most memorable member of Batman's Rogues Gallery,but also a Definitive one. You just can't have a proper Batman series without The Joker. There have been many many versions of the character,but the best and most iconic version is the Joker from the 90's Animated Series (voiced by Luke Skywalker himself,Mark Hamil). He was really fun to watch,Hamil's Joker is just Legendary. And how about that iconic laugh of his?

Shao Khan (Mortal Kombat) - "You Will Die,Mortal!" Those are the Immortal Words of The Mighty Emperor of Outworld. For most fans of Mortal Kombat, Shao Khan was their first taste of a Big Bad in the Series. Khan has a very cool and very iconic look,which is a mix between Skeletor and a Samurai. Khan was the most powerful boss in the 2D Mortal Kombat games,decimating everyone in just a few hits. If you were an arcade-goer,this lead to a lot of Quarters being spent...and I do mean A Lot.

Dr.Doom (Marvel) - He was the 1st Real Big Bad of the Marvel Multiverse and is still a big deal today. That metal mask and green hooded cape of his are simply unforgettable. And while there are more powerful Villains in the Marvel Multiverse,Dr.Doom remains the most iconic and memorable.

The Shredder (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles) - There have been many versions of The Shredder,and each of them memorable in their own way. But the '87 Animated version of the Turtles' Chief Nemesis is special. See,The Shredder was only the main villain for a short while in the Original Mirage Comic,who soon became an afterthought after he was killed. The '87 version expanded the characters roll in the franchise and eventually made the character popular. He soon became the Turtles' #1 Villain thoughout the franchise. Despite their differences,all Shredders have the same goal: World Domination.

Skeletor (Masters of the Universe) - He-Man and Eternia's #1 Nemesis. Skeletor covets the secrets of Castle Greyskull so that he can rule the Galaxy. Like with Shredder and Joker,there are multiple versions of Skeletor,But none so iconic or memorable as the Filmation version. Yeah,that version of Skeletor was the most fun to watch...especially when he does that iconic evil laugh of his.

Megatron (Transformers) - The Definitive Leader of The Decepticons believes in Peace though Tyranny and will stop at nothing to rule the Universe and rob it of it's Energon. Like with other Baddies on tbis list,there are multiple versions of this guy,but the G1 Version will always be the most iconic and memorable.

Cobra Commander (G.I. Joe) - There are multiple versions of this dude too and they are all Megalomaniacs who lead Cobra,a ruthless organization hellbent on dominating the world. The Real American Hero Cobra Commander is the one everyone best remembers...complete with raspy voice. Cooobraaaaa!!!

Mumm-Ra (Thundercats) - An ancient evil of Third Earth,who calls upon the powers of The Ancient Spirits of Evil to become Mumm-Ra,the Ever-Living. He was the biggest threat to the Thundercats and almost succeeded in destroying them a few times. 80's Mumm-Ra was the best version.

Giovanni (Pokemon) - The leader of Team Rocket,a ruthless mafia-like organization who use Pokemon for their criminal activities. One of the most memorable things (if not the most memorable thing) about Giovanni is when he revealed himself to be the mysterious Veridian City Gym Leader way back in Generation 1. There were many other Evil Teams and Bossess after him,but Giovanni and Team Rocket remain the most memorable and most iconic.

Dr. Eggman (Sonic the Hedgehog) - A man shaped like an egg and has an I.Q. over 300. Eggman's goal is to conquer the world with his Deadly Machines. He would've succeeded too if not for his arch-nemesis,Sonic the Hedgehog. Eggman battles Sonic in a variety of Vehicles and Mechs,some of which were iconic. Dr.Eggman is a classic Video Game Baddie and Tbe Sonic Series wouldn't be the same without him.

Bowser Koopa (Super Mario) - He's big,strong,has a fiery temper,and Loves to kidnap Princessess. He's King Bowser Koopa,the biggest threat to the Mushroom Kingdom and the very first boss most NES players have ever encountered. It's one of the reasons why Bowser is so memorable. Fun fact: Shigeru Miyamoto initially based Bowser on the Ox Demon King from Journey to the West,that's why he has ox-like features. Bowser was given some turtle-like features as well,to make him realated to the Koopa's,who were turtles.

Dr.Wily (Mega Man) - Ex-friend and Rival of Dr. Light. Dr.Wily wants to dominate the the world and force it to recognize him as the Ultimate Robitics Genius. For us Mega Man fans,Dr.Wily is fondly remembered as the OG Mega Man Villain and to this day remains one of the most iconic Baddies in All of Video Games.

Sigma (Mega Man X) - Sigma,aka the greatest Mega Man Villain,was originally a Maverick Hunter turned evil by a Virus. Ever since his 1st defeat at the hands of X,Sigma now lives on as a living digital entity that's part computer virus. There have been,and there will be,many more X-Series villains,but Sigma will Always remain Lord Of The Mavericks!

Ganon/Ganondorf (Legend of Zelda) -
Ganondorf is a Gerudo who is the reincarnation of the Demon Lord Demise,and it's because of this,Ganondorf is the emodiment of evil. He aims to dominate Hyrule and rid it of it's Legendary Hero,Link and it's Princess,Zelda. In many continuities,Ganondorf controls the Triforce of Power.He also has a Demon Boar form simply called,Ganon. There were many Villains in the Zelda Franchise,but Ganondorf will always remain the most iconic.

M.Bison (Street Fighter) - The OG Street Fighter Baddie is Still the best. Energized with Psycho Power,M.Bison is one of the franchises most powerful villains. He is the leader of Shadaloo,an underground terrorist organization. Out of all the Street Fighter villains,M.Bison remains the most memorable.

Sephiroth (Final Fantasy 7) - The King of All Final Fantasy Villains. With his cool look and Awesome Sword (the masamune),Sephiroth instantly became a fan favorite. Sephiroth's goal in the original game was to become one with the planet by striking it with Meteor (look up the FF7 story for yourselves guys,cuz I ain't gonna explain how sephy's plan is supposed to work). Sephiroth remains the face of all Final Fantasy Villains,he's just that iconic.

Queen Beryl (Sailor Moon) - Galaxia's the most powerful,Nehelenia is the sexiest,Pharaoh 90's the biggest,and Death/Doom Phantom is the scariest. But Beryl will alway be the most Iconic and memorable Villain in the Sailor Moon franchise. After all,she was the first major villain we Sailor Moon fans were exposed to. Beryl herself was the ruler of the Dark Kingdom,an ancient evil group who,along with their mistress Metalia,decimated the Silver Milenium. They were later reborn on Earth after their first total defeat by Queen Serenity. On Earth, they seek the Silver Crystal,the only thing that will restore Metalia to form.

Sailor Galaxia (Sailor Moon) - Before this Golden Armored beauty was stopped by Eternal Sailor Moon, she conquered and decimated over half the Galaxy with a Golden Fist. Sailor Galaxia was the final Villainess (so far?) and the Strongest one in the Sailor Moon Franchise. 

Frieza (Dragon Ball Z) - Intergalactic Tyrant Frieza is the most recognizable villain in all of Dragon Ball. We first meet him in the Namek Saga of Z,where he was after the Namekian Dragon Balls to wish for immortality. The tyrant almost succeded,but was thwarted by his lack of understanding the Namekian Language. He later met his first true defeat at the hands of Super Saiyan Goku. Since then,Frieza has made many many more appearances through out the franchise,including having a major roll in Dragon Ball Super. He's a true Anime icon.

Cell (Dragon Ball Z) - The Masterpiece of Dr. Gero. Cell is an Evil Bio-Android with a fetish for destruction and fighting. Thanks to being made up of Cells from Goku, Piccolo, Frieza, King Cold, and Vegeta, Cell exhibits all of their traits and abilities. He can regenerate his body like Piccolo, can get a power boost after injery like Goku and Vegeta, and can move around and breath in deep space like Frieza and King Cold. Cell is the total package  He met his end at the hands of Super Saiyan 2 Gohan.   

Omega Shenron (Dragon Ball GT) - The Coolest Looking Villain in the Dragon Ball Franchise. Omega Shenron came into being when Shadow Dragon, Syn Shenron, fused with the Dragon Balls to become the Demonic Super Shadow Dragon and the most Powerful Bad Guy in the Franchise. It took a Universal Spirit Bomb to finally destroy him. 

Devimon (Digimon) - Devimon was the very first villain the Digidestened crossed paths with. His voice and look make him one of the most memorable anime villains of all time. His Touch of Evil and Black Gears can corrupt any Digimon. Devimon is a great villian and one of the most memorable in the Digimon Franchise.

Myotismon (Digimon) - Myotismon was the second Major threat that the Digidestined has faced. He wanted total domination of both the Real and Digital Worlds,but first he had to find the 8th Digidestined and destroy her. Because he knows that once the 8 Digidestined Children are united,he'd be in serious trouble. Anyway,Myotismon had a very cool look,he was like a masked vampire-lord. Liked his voice too,very menacing. Myotismon will always be remembered fondly by Digimon fans and Anime fans alike.

Dr. Claw (Inspector Gadget) - Dr. Claw,leader of the criminal organization known as M.A.D. This dude is an 80's cartoon icon and it's due to his deep menacing voice and overall presentation (only his arms were shown to the viewer).

Mojo Jojo (The Powerpuff Girls) - There's just something memorable and entertaining about an evil,somewhat-goofy,fast-talking chimp with a super-brain. His laugh is fun too.

Mandark (Dexter's Laboratory) - Mandark is Dexter's greatest rival and evil scientist in-training. He was an entertaining villain. His laugh was the most memorable thing about him.

Maleficent (Disney Animated Canon) - The Mistress of All Evil. There have been various versions of the character,but the OG Maleficent will always be the best and most iconic. No words can describe the awesomeness that is the DAC Maleficent.

Emperor Palpentine (Star Wars) - This Satan-Archtype is the greatest evil the Galaxy Far Far Away has ever seen. Without him manipulating things, The Star Wars would've never happened. Palpentine was the one to turn Anikin Skywalker to the Dark Side to become Darth Vader. He acts like a nice and wise old-man in public, which allows him to deceive the public and manipulate them. Pure Evil.   

Gul Dukat (Star Trek: Deep Space 9) - A Former Cardassian General and Dictator. Dukat may have charismatic charm, but that hides more devious motives. After many failures he went mad, but still sane enough to be a competent and dangerous antagonist. Later, Dukat decided to embrace his role as the villain of the little narrative he cooked up in his own head. Dukat's cruel, sadistic, bigoted, and arrogant  BTW, for those Non-Trek Fans, Gul is a title, not His first name. Gul is Cardassian equivalent to Earth's Captain/Colonel rank.

The Borg (Star Trek: The Next Generation and Star Trek: Voyager) - They Are Borg! Prepare Tor Assimilation! Resistance Is Futile! These no-hearted Space Cyborgs assimilate innocent people into their Collective after attacking and abducting them. As Borg, the converted loose all sense of Individuality and follow the Collective with Zero Hesitation. Their goal is to rule the Universe by turning all life into mindless drones dedicated to the Collective and it's Evil Queen. Collectivism is truly Evil and The Borg prove it. 

The Green Goblin (Spider-Man) - A hardcore Businessman turned Evil. Norman Osborn went crazy and became one of Spider-Man's Greatest Foes, The Green Goblin. There have been many different versions of The Green Goblin over the years, but for the most part he's remained consistent personality wise - Evil, Psychotic, and Homicidal. The Green Goblin is the Spider-Man equivalent to Batman's Joker.

John Kreese (The Karate Kid) - The Ultimate 80s Evil Martial Arts Master. He is the Sensei of the Cobra Kai Dojo and mentor to Johnny Lawrence and his friends. Kreese formed the Cobra Kai's motto - "Strike Fast, Strike Hard, No Mercy!" A total jerk. He even assaulted Johnny when he lost the tournament in The Karate Kid II. If it wasn't for Mr. Miagi stepping in, Kreese would've killed Johnny.

George Washington Duke (Rocky V) - A sleezy Fight Manager/Promoter who does whatever it takes for fame and fortune. He tried to get Rocky to fight for his title, despite him being forced into retirement due to injuries sustained by The Powerful Ivan Drago. He then manipulated Rocky's Protege, Tommy "The Machine" Gunn, into Ditching Balboa to come under His own wing. The result was heavy friction between Rocky and Gunn. Duke got what was coming to him at the end of the Movie, When Rocky knocked him down with a power punch. 

Rita Repulsa (Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers) - Not the Best Bad Lady in all of fiction, but defiantly an entertaining one. She's also on this list for being the very first Power Ranger Villain in the Whole Damn Franchise.  

Lord Zedd (Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers) - Rita's successor. This evil, yet cool looking, dude is notable for being the Power Ranger Franchise's Very First Original Villain (ie. not from sentai). Zedd got nerfed later on due to Parents complaining on how scary he was for kids. 

Ivan Ooze (Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers: The Movie) -  Ivan Ooze was a villain created soley for the Move. Even though he wasn't canon, Ivan Ooze was still a good bad guy. He had a cool look, he was competent, and he was entertaining as hell. Ivan Ooze was a truly unforgettable.

King Zarkan (Voltron: Defender of the Universe) - The Ruler of Planet Doom. An evil tyrant who aims to take over the Universe. He captures slaves for labor and as opponents/victims for his Robeasts, Mutants with Cybernetic implants.  

Prince Lothor (Voltron: Defender of the Universe) - The Son of Zarkon is even more ruthless than his Father. He's also smarter and a better fighter. If it wasn't for his obsession with Princess Allura, he would be unbeatable.

Hordak (She-Ra: Princess of Power) - Hordak had many incarnations, as well. But the version on this list is the Classic Filmation Version, as this 80s Toon Incarnation is what most people are familiar with. Hordak is the leader of the Evil Hoard. They took over Etheria with an iron fist after dominating the Population with greater technology. The Great Rebellion, led by Princess Adora/She-Ra, are their heroic arch foes. 

Hera (Hercules: The Legendary Journeys) - Hercules' Wicked Step-Mother. She killed Herc's family out of spite for the Hero. Her attitude and lore is based on how she was in Greek Mythology (unlike, Disney's Version). She never appears in person, until the Final Season, where she seemingly turned good. Though out the Series, Hera constantly targets Hercules in her mission of hatred and revenge. But, Herc always comes out on top. 

Ares (Hercules: The Legendary Journeys and Xena: Warrior Princess) - The God of War and Hercules' Evil Half-Brother. He's Herc's #2 Enemy, behind Hera. He's also Xena's former Mentor, before the Warrior Princess Turned Good. Ares is cool, dark, and sinister,the perfect counterpart to the Heroic Hercules. In Xena: Warrior Princess, he's always trying, and failing, to bring Xena back to the Darkside. He is one of Xena's Greatest Foes

Callisto (Xena: Warrior Princess) - My Favorite Xena Villain!!! Callisto is one of Xena's Greatest Foes and Her Greatest Rival. Callisto is so fun to watch, She's psychotic, athletic, and a great fighter. But, underneath all of that lays a tragic backstory. Back when Xena was Evil, she ransacked a town called Cira. There she killed all of the men, as she raided the town. She also killed Callisto's Parents. Callisto, being one of the few survivors became consumed with vengeance and carried that into adulthood, which turned her Evil. To this day, Callisto is Still The Best Xena Villain, and My personal favorite.

Zarm (Captain Planet) - An Ex-Spirit of Earth, who used his powers for evil. He was banished from Earth, but returned to cause havoc a few times. Zarm is the most dangerous villain the Planeteers have ever fought.

Captain Pollution (Captain Planet) - This guy is fun. Captain Pollution is an evil copy of Captain Planet created from evil versions of the Planeteer's Rings. He's a crazy pollution powered bad dude with surfer speak. His over the top personality make Captain Pollution a hoot. 

Lex Luthor (Superman) - Superman's #1 Enemy. This dude has many many incarnations too. This Legendary Bald Bad Guy has been a Criminal Genius, A Super Villain,and a Corrupt Corporate Executive with Great Publicity. No matter which version of Luthor you prefer, this dude is a Master Villain in Any Universe.

Magneto (X-Men) - Another Character with various incarnations. He is one of the X-Men's Greatest Arch-Foes and sworn Enemy and Rival of Professor Charles Xavier, Mentor of the X-Men. He won't rest until All Humankind is either dead or enslaved by Mutantkind.

The Kingpin (Marvel) - Wilson Fisk is New York City's Criminal Master.He has been the Arch Foe of Spier-Man, Daredevil, And The Punisher. The Kingpin is a Big Dude, all that "fat" is actually muscle. So, not only is he smart, he's strong too. A very dangerous guy.    

Kefka (Final Fantasy VI) - This Psycho is Final Fantasy's answer to Batman's Joker. Kefka is not only psychotic, but an evil genius. He rose though the ranks of The Gesthal Empire, manipulating Emperor Gesthal. He enslaved Terra, betrayed Gesthal, and, later, destroyed the World and took it over. Damn.   

Ultimacia (Final Fantasy VII) - The Sorceress who wants to Dominate a Time Compressed World. Fun fact about her - Our Heroes Never get to meet her until The Final Battle With Her. Yeah, though out the game she uses proxies, instead of appearing in person. Still, she Is very strong and a tough final boss. She has a Guardian Force, a Summon Monster, called Griever. 

Dr. Weil (Mega Man Zero) - Dr. Weil is basically Dr. Wily, but Worse. Dr. Weil was responsible in turning Zero's body into the Genocidal Killing Robot, Omega. Because of this Zero's consciousness was transferred into a copy body. Dr. Weil was made into a Cyborg as punishment for starting the Elf Wars (why? don't ask me, it's Capcom's convoluted story, not mine). Weil manipulated things from behind the scenes and eventually took over the World. His reign ended, thanks to Zero.   

Count Dracula (Castlevania) - A Classic Vampire Villain, though I'm only gonna be talking about the Dracula from the Castlevania Series. This version of Dracula is a terror who keeps on coming back from the dead, no matter how many times the Belmonts kill him. Dracula's turned to evil came as a result of him losing of his wife to a riotous mob. He sold his soul to Satan for supernatural powers, which includes the ability to control armies of Monsters and The Undead. 

Captain Syrup (Wario Land) - Hot Pirate Queen who is the Arch-Rival and Nemesis to Wario. She's even more greedy than Wario and more devious. She commands the Brown Sugar Pirates, who aim to be the richest, most powerful, gang in the Mushroom World (the world of super mario bros, where the wario land games take place.). She may or may not be the "Warui" Counterpart of Pauline.

King K. Rool (The Donkey Kong Country Trilogy, Donkey Kong 64, and Donkey Kong Bananza) - Ruler of the Kremlings and The Kong Family's Greatest Enemy. King K. Rool and his Kremlings made their debut in Donkey Kong Country 1 by terrorizing Kong Island and stealing Donkey Kong's sacred Banana Hoard. And since then, King K Rool has become one of Nintendo's most popular villains.  

King Koopa (The Super Mario Bros Super Show, Adventures of Super Mario Bros. 3, and Super Mario World) - This version of Bower is almost as iconic as his Prime Counterpart. King Koopa is a fusion of Bowser and Wart, which is appropriate as The Super Mario Bros. Super Show takes inspiration from the 1st 2 Super Mario Games. King Koopa is constantly scheming for money and power, but is constantly foiled by The Super Mario Bros, Toad, and Princess Toadstool. Personality-wise, he's the most over-the-top version of Bowser....and I love it.King Koopa is such a fun bad guy.     

Ganon (Legend of Zelda, the '89 Animated Series) - This Version of Ganon may look and act different from his Nintendoverse Counterpart, but that doesn't mean that he's bad..far from it. This Ganon is entertaining and dangerous in his own right. He has ownership of the Triforce of Power, which the Heroes,Link and Zelda, need to defeat him and restore peace to Hyrule.  

Mother Brain (Captain N: The Game Master) - She's over-the-top, egotistical, narcissistic, and just plain evil....Saturday Morning Cartoon Evil, but still evil. Her looks and Personality are very different from the Metroid Games, where she was a demonic brain who controlled the various creatures of the Galaxy...especially the Metroids. Here, she's just a fun to watch Over-the-Top, Saturday Morning Cartoon Villian.

Dr. Julian Robotnik (Sonic The Hedgehog aka Sonic SatAM) - A more serious and dark take on Dr. Eggman. This version of Robotnik has managed to take over parts of the Planet Mobius. He has captured Mobotropolus and turned it into Robotropolus, his dark mechanical haven. And he plans on doing the same to the rest of the Planet. He captures innocent Mobians and robotisizes  them. He even banished the King to a another dimention. The Freedom Fighters,led by Sonic the Hedgehog, always manage to stop his expansion plans. 

Yosemite Sam (Looney Tunes) - The bad tempered, gun slingin' enemy of Bugs Bunny, A classic Looney Tunes Antagonist. 'Nuff Said.

Grimlord (V.R. Troopers) - Karl Ziktor is a corrupt businessman who becomes the Evil Interdimentional Warlord, Grimlord. The V.R. Troopers are always there to stop his plans to take over their World.

Firelord Ozai (Avatar: The Last Airbender) - The Leader of the Fire Nation with ambitions to conquer the World and force his will upon the People. He came close to total domination, very very close. But, thanks to Avatar Aang, his goal was cut short.

Darkseid (DC) - Ruler of Apokolyps and One of the deadlest foes of Superman and the Juatice League. 

Red Skull (Marvel) - A Nazi Survivor and #1 foe of Captaon America. He's also been a threat to the Avengers, as well. Red Skull won't rest until the World is Nazi Dominated.

Thanos (Marvel) - Thanos is best known as The Mad Titan who terrorised the Universe with the Infinity Gauntlet and Infinity Gems. He's one of the Avengers greatest foes. 

Dr. Drakken (Kim Possible) - aka Drew Theodore P. Lipsky. This impatient, persistent, and slightly immature scientist is Kim Possible's #1 Foe. He's plans for World Domination always fail or backfire, thanks to either Kim Possible or by his own arrogance. He has a slightly more competent sidekick in Shego. Drakken is yet another bad guy who I find entertaining.

Shego (Kim Possible) - Kim Possible's greatest Rival. She may be Dr. Drakken's Sidekick, but she's both smarter and stronger...Plus, she's got Super Powers and a whole lot of attitude. I Love Shego.

Chernabog (Disney Animated Canon) - The Devil of Disney. First seen in the Fantasia Short, "Night on Bald Moubtain", Chernabog has since been featured in many different Disney media.

Pete (Mickey Mouse and Friends) - Mickey Mouse's "frenemy" and Disney's first Bad Guy. Pete has been in many things Disney, as both an Antagonist and a Villain.  

Dr. Facilier (Disney Aninated Canon) - One of my all time favorite Disney Villains. He's a charasmatic Voodoo Master, also known as "The Shadow Man". He's also got one of the best Villain Songs in All of Disney Aninated Canon.

Hades (Disney Animated Canon) - Charasmatic, manipulative, dark, yet humorous. This is Disney's Hades. His goal is to take over Olympus with the Titans and overthrow his Brother Zeus. He's stopped everytime by Hercules. He has 2 minions, incompetent imps, Pain and Panic. Despite being very inaccurate to the Myths, I really enjoy watching this version of Hades.

Judge Claude Frollo (Disney Animated Canon) - A fanatic who wants to keep Paris Gypsy free. He is the adopted father of Quasimodo, and an oppressive one. He has one of the most Epic Disney Villain Songs ever. 

Syndrome (The Incredibles) - A charasmatic and sinister super Genius. He was once a Big Fan of Mr. Incredible, before turning into his Nemesis, thanks to being rejected by his hero. So he got rich designing gadgets and became a Super Villain. He's also managed to kill a few Superheroes before he fought Mr. Incredible.

Lotso Huggin' Bear (Toy Story 3) - Turned evil by an accidental abandonment by  his owner. Lotso runs Sunny Side daycare like a corrupt Prison Warden. Sure he may come off as a nice guy, but he's anything but.

Dr. Heinz Doofenshmertz (Phineas and Ferb) - Doofensmirtz is a bad scientist in every sence of the word, he's bumbling and a decent guy. Though, he's persistent and that's part of why he's a fan favorite. His goal is to either Totally humiliate his Brother, Mayor Roger Doofensmirtz, or to Take over the Tri-State Area. It all depends on his mood. He is thwarted by his own buffoonery or by his Nemesis/Frenemy, Perry the Platypus aka Agent P.

Negaduck (Darkwing Duck) - Negaduck is Darkwing Duck's evil Double from a Mirror Universe. He's brutal, cruel, psychotic, and has a bad temper. He's also a capable advasery for Darkwing Duck.

David Xanatos (Gargoyles) - David Xanatos is a billionaire and CEO of Xanatos Enterprises. He broke the spell that imprisoned the gargoyles by having the castle placed on his building and frequently attempted to manipulate or control them. He is amoral, manipulative, and brilliant. He rarely takes setbacks personally, and regards seeking revenge as foolish. 

Demona (Gargoyles) - Demona is the main antagonist of the series, driven by a hatred of humanity. She is Goliath's ex-mate and Angela's biological mother; who is no longer frozen in stone by daylight like the others, thanks to Puck's pre-Gathering intervention. She hates Humanity and is an enemy of Goliath's Clan. As for Demoner herself, she was a fun Villainess. Cool, complex and badass.  

Gargamel (The Smurfs) - Gargamel is an Evil, yet unlucky and impoverished Wizard who wants to either kill the Smurfs, Eat Them, or Turn them into Gold. It all depends on the plot of the Episode. He's another Saturday Morning Cartoon Villaon with a Legendary Status

Dick Dastardly (Hannah-Batbera) - One of American Animations Most Legendary Villains. Along with his sidekick, Muttley, Dastardly finds ways to cause trouble in the World of Hannah-Barbera...and fails in a funny way every time. Dastardly and Muttley, an entertaining Duo. 

Mr. C. Montgomery Burns (The Simpsons) - An on again/off again Villian, depending on the Episode. Even when he's Not in "Villain Mode", Burns is still a jerk and a meiser. When Mr. Burns is at his worst, he's at his best.

Sideshow Bob (The Simpsons) - The articulate Sideshow Bob is an Evil Genius with an obsession with Killing Bart Simpson for always foiling him. SIdeshow Bob was once Keusty the Clown's sidekick, before he got sick of it and framed Krusty for armed robbery. Sideshow Bob is my favorite Simpson Villain.

Magica De Spell (Ducktales) - An Evil Witch who wants great power, but to get it she needs Scrooge McDuck's #1 Dime. So, no matter how much she schemes, she's always foiled by Scrooge McDuck and his Family.

---------------------------------------------------

Honorable Mentions - MonStar (SilverHawks), Overlord (Spiral Zone), Kagato (Tenchi Muyo and Tenchi Universe), Metlar (Inhumanoids), Serpentor (G.I. Joe: Real American Hero), Unicron (Transformers), Piedmon (Digimon), King Piccolo (Dragon Ball), Baron Dark (Skeleton Warriors), Sir Lewis Leon Paradim (The Bots Master), Doc Terror (The Centurions), Dr. Luther Paradigm / Dr. Piranoid (Street Sharks), Krang (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles '87), Laurence Limburger (Biker Mice From Mars), Sheriff Terrorbull (Wild Wast COW Boys of Moo Mesa), M. Bison (Street Fighter: the '95 Animated Series), Shang Tsung (Mortal Kombat), Shinnok (Mortal Kombat), Hopper (A Bugs Life), Cy-Kill (Challenge of the Go Bots), Quan Chi (Mortal Kombat), Flintheart Glomgold (Ducktales), Scar (The Lion King), Zira (The Lion King II), Tex Hex (BraveStarr), Biff Tannen (Back to the Future), Vigo the Carpathian (Ghostbusters 2), Rathamon (Conan the Adventurer), Cybron (SkySurfer Strike Force), Scarab (Mummies Alive), Dr. Wily (Ruby-Spears Mega Man), Big Boss (COPS), Venger (Dungeons and Dragons), Boris and Natasha (Rocky and Bullwinkle), Megabyte (Reboot), Prime-Evil (Filmation Ghost Busters), Mr. Big (The Power Team), and Umbra (Mighty Orbots)

Without bad guys, a heroes work would be boring. I may do a Heroes Version of this Master List in the future. And maybe a 2nd Edition with the Honorable Mentions.

So what do you think? Should We celebrate Villain-tine's Day Every Feb 14th? And how about my personal picks? Lemmie know in the comment section.

Until Next Time,Punch Nazis, Kick Commies, Resist Modern Attitudes, and Stay Gold.

Top Whatever - Retro Video Game Soundtracks

Video Game Music Fandom needs no introductions.  Originally made to eliminate silence in Video Games, now it's been a stable of geek cul...